top of page

Incorporating Christian Faith in Therapy

Updated: May 4, 2020

Every therapist who is open about their faith (Christian or other) has their own personal stance on if and how they incorporate faith practices in the therapy setting.

If a client wants to incorporate their Christian faith, my approach is one of respect and engaged understanding. No two people in the world share the exact same beliefs – we will all find differences somewhere. What I offer is an understanding of Christian faith and history from a theologically trained background (specifically from my Master of Divinity at Fuller Theological Seminary and my involvement with a variety of Christian denominations since childhood). I understand doctrine, church culture, denominations, theological positions, and church history.

Practically, incorporating Christian faith into therapy looks like an understanding and respect for the role of the Triune God, Scripture, theology, spirituality, and the Church in a client’s life. In addition to discussion of faith, if a client chooses, we will use prayer, liturgy, or Scripture readings in session.

Since I do not see myself as an advisor or pastor, I don’t teach theology or doctrine, nor do I give direction or make decisions for clients with regards to their faith. My main goal is to support my client’s contexts, values, goals, and their decisions. I want to empower, not direct.

Lastly, I work with clients of all faiths as well as agnostics and atheists. I am respectful of all beliefs and actively work to understand my client’s contexts, values, and goals. This encompasses all elements of their life, including spirituality.

29 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page